Home Construction Categories

Construction Category 1

Simple structure, low consequence.

This might include gates, handrails, agricultural buildings (no people congregating) or greenhouses.

Construction Category 2

Medium structure, moderate consequence.

This might include commercial, residential and educational buildings not exceeding 15 storeys, hospitals, warehouses or industrial buildings.

Construction Category 3

More complex, higher risk.

This might include bridges, structures designed for fatigue actions or as specifically required in authority construction specifications.

Construction Category 4

Most complex, highest risk.

The requirements for CC4 are not fully defined in AS/NZS 5131. CC4 applies to unusual or special structures for which it is expected the requirements additional to those for CC3 will be defined at a project-specific level or by a particular organisation, agency or business.